burbanmacro

Back at it

Chlorochroa ligata. conchuela stink bug, and unidentified moth

Vivitar Series 1 105mm f/2.5 Macro, Vivitar 2x Macro Teleconverter, YN-560 speedlight

1/160 sec, f/13

It’s been a little while since I’ve picked up my camera.  I really didn’t realize how much I missed it.  This moth was soaking up some sun and I got an itch to take some pictures.  It was good to scratch that itch.  I just wish there were more insects to take pictures of…like the shield bug in this set.  It wasn’t very cooperative, so I was only able to get one good shot of it.  I don’t agree with moving my subjects for the sake of the shot, so I took what I could get–one shot of it hanging upside-down, head-on.

I have no plan to even attempt it identify the moth–a wiki search indicates that there are more than 160,000 known species of moth.  As much as I’d like to ID all of my subjects, NOPE, not even gonna try on this one.

This entry was published on October 1, 2012 at 11:43am and is filed under blog, Insects. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Back at it

  1. Great photos—I especially like the third.

    Your “moth” is a skipper butterfly (you can tell by the antennae, although skippers do look a bit like moths). Skippers are much easier to identify than moths (although probably not from portrait photos).

Leave a Reply

