burbanmacro

New Lens on the Way!

Vivitar Series 1 f/2.5 Macro

(Image courtesy of David @ Making Not Taking)

I think I may have just come up super-sick-like today.  Vivitar Series 1 105mm f/2.5 Macro.

There are three reasons that I’m insanely excited about this lens.

One, it’ll focus to 1:1 without extension tubes–meaning (I think) that I will be able to reclaim some of the 2 stops of light I’m losing in the extension tube for my Rokkor 100mm.  I’m hoping that this means that I’ll be able to use my speedlight at lower power (and hence, at a shorter flash duration).  It also means that I’ll be able to use it as a short telephoto without having to unmount the lens first.

Two, it’s a beefy, all-metal-and-glass lens.  I love the way old-school lenses feel–yeah, they’re heavy, but they just feel so nice.  With the exception of the NEX-5N’s kit lens, all of my lenses fit into that “vintage” mold.

And three, it was apparently manufactured by Kino Precision and is of the same optical design as the Kiron 105mm f/2.8 Macro.  From what I’ve read, it’s a legendary lens (orange drop ;))  I’m eager to see how it performs.

Next on my watch list is the Vivitar Series 1 90mm f/2.5 “Bokina”–supposedly the benchmark to which all other macro lenses are compared.

Moar lenses!  >:O

This entry was published on July 25, 2012 at 2:07am and is filed under blog. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

