burbanmacro

hello there!

Habronattus coecatus.  jumping spider.

rokkor 100mm f/3.5 macro, vivitar 2x macro teleconverter, yn-560 speedlight

I was introduced to jumping spiders when I was scouring the interwebs trying to learn more about macro photography.  I can across Thomas Shahan’s Introduction to High-Magnification Macro Photography, and fell in love with the little critters.  They’ve got those big eyes, and behave more like animals than bugs.  As weird as it sounds, their behavior reminds me of cats :P.

Anyhow, these three images are from my first encounter with a jumping spider.  I had no idea how small these guys are.  Yes, Thomas showed us some in his video–but I still thought they were bigger.  It was really cool to watch it doing its spider things while I was waiting for shots.  They’re really active–constantly looking around, grooming themselves, flailing their arms, and jumping to different vantage points.  I even caught this one scratching its spider parts.  Much more interesting than web spiders IMO.

This entry was published on July 12, 2012 at 8:10pm and is filed under blog, Insects. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

