burbanmacro

Zombie Bee

Apis millifera.  common western honey bee.

rokkor 100mm f/3.5 macro with 1:1 tube, vivitar 2x macro teleconverter, yn-560 speedlight

Another insect I found on my doorstep.  I was enjoying the cool weather outside and noticed that this bee had been in the same place for a while–I thought it was dead.  I ran inside to get my camera thinking that it’d be a good opportunity to try >1:1, since a dead subject equals a totally stationary subject.  This was actually just supposed to be a test-shot.  It turns out that this bee was alive!  I got my lens onto it, and it moved.  That made me happy–I vastly prefer photographing live subjects over dead ones.

I find that bees tend to be difficult subjects to photograph during daylight hours because they never stay in one place for very long–I don’t have very many good captures of bees during the day because they always seem to fly away just as I get them into focus.

This entry was published on July 8, 2012 at 9:05pm and is filed under Insects. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

