burbanmacro

Itsy Bitsy Spider

have not identified.

Rokkor 100mm f/3.5 Macro with 1:1 tube, yn-560 speedlight

Minolta 35mm f/3.5, reversed, on the extension tube for the 100mm Macro.

This is one of my very first attempts at macro photography–and also where I learned about diffraction IRL.

This is the same spider, photographed on different days with two different lens setups.  This subject was photographed with a number of firsts for me.  This is the very first spider that I photographed, and the first photo that I’d taken of something that a living subject that I considered “tiny.”  No more than 3mm long, this little feller had been hanging out in pretty much the same place for a number of days.  It actually made me sad when I came back to photograph it more and found that it was gone 😦

This was also the first test of my über ghetto softbox for my YN560.  I had, until this point, been unable to use my Rokkor 100mm f/3.5 Macro at 1:1 because of the light loss from the extension tube.

It was also the first time that I’d experimented with the reversing ring that came along with my Rokkor 50mm f/3.5 Macro.

This entry was published on July 8, 2012 at 9:41pm and is filed under Insects. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

