burbanmacro

Doin’ a Dance

Apis millifera.  common western honey bee.

rokkor 100mm f/3.5 macro with 1:1 tube, vivitar 2x macro teleconverter, yn-560 speedlight

I decided I’d bring out my macro rig (instead of the fast 50 I usually take) when I went out for my walk.  It turned out to be a pretty fruitless afternoon, with the exception of this photo.  I saw this bee, with its head planted onto the ground, spinning in circles–kinda like it was doing a headspin.  I thought that maybe it was being attacked by ants, so I got down to take a closer look.  As you can see, no ants.  I snapped of about a dozen shots, left, and came back to it on my way back home.  Still there, spinning on its head.  So I snapped off a few more, and it eventually flew away.  My guess is that the spinning around was the bee getting warmed up to fly.  That or maybe it got swatted, and was disoriented and confused…  In any case, I’m glad I stopped and caught its odd behavior.

This entry was published on June 29, 2012 at 5:21am. It’s filed under blog, Insects and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

